The theme of the Australian Leadership Retreat 2012 was “The new global prosperity – agility in the face of instability”. The program sought to identify risks and challenges; explore and develop possible solutions; and canvas a wealth of possible opportunities. It also acknowledged and deepened the participants’ understanding of the prevailing profound sense of uncertainty permeating the current state of the key global economies.

In the midst of global uncertainties, the program challenged us to think and act with confidence. We gather at the Retreat with the understanding that leaders have the responsibility to acknowledge and respond to our most difficult challenges, striving to cultivate a more prosperous, sustainable and just future for all.

The 2012 ADC Leadership Retreat attracted many prominent international and national leaders from government, business, non-government organisations and academia. It presented us with a unique opportunity to form a wide-ranging and multi-disciplinary dialogue to investigate the avenues through which we can overcome insecurities and make an important and positive contribution to the future.

View interviews with the speakers of the Leadership Retreat 2012, conducted by Business Spectator:

Speakers of the Australian Leadership in 2012 were:

  • Cheng Siwei, Chairman, International Finance Forum
  • The Hon Dr Michael Ignatieff, Senior Resident Fellow, Massey College, University of Toronto
  • Dr Stephen Wolfram, Founder & CEO, Wolfram Research
  • Susan Li, Anchor, Bloomberg Television
  • Professor Alexey Pushkov, Chairman, Committee on International Affairs in State Duma
  • The Hon Wayne Swan MP, Treasurer and Deputy Prime Minister of Australia
  • Dr Fan Gang, Director, National Economic Research Institute, China Reform Foundation & Advisor, Monetary Policy Committee, People’s Bank of China
  • Admiral Dennis Blair, Former Director of National Intelligence & Former Commander in Chief, US Pacific Command, US Navy
  • James G. Rickards, Author and Partner, JAC Capital Advisors
  • Dr Bjørn Lomborg, Director, Copenhagen Consensus Centre
  • Phillip Blond, Director, ResPublica
  • John D’Agostino, Managing Director, Dagger Consulting
  • HE David Daly, Ambassador and Head of Delegation, Delegation of the European Union to Australia & NZ
  • Vijay Poonoosamy, Vice-President International Affairs, Etihad Airways
  • Dr Francis Gurry, Director General, World Intellectual Property Organization
  • The Hon Greg Hunt MP, Shadow Minister for Climate Action, Environment & Heritage, Parliament of Australia
  • Wolfgang Lehmacher, Partner and Managing Director (Greater China and India), Corporate Value Associates 
  • Saul Eslake, Chief Economist Australia & New Zealand, Bank of America Merrill Lynch
  • Paul Schulte, Chief Investment Strategist, BNY Mellon
  • Bronwyn Curtis, Senior Adviser, HSBC Global Banking Markets